Parenting Style

I’ve always known that I raise my kids differently from most parents. I probably look at life differently, in general. So I forged my own parenting and homeschooling path as well. I was actually surprised when I found that others were out there – living happily with their families without school intrusions.

My parenting style grew from prioritizing communication. I wasn’t interested in establishing my authority or trying to catch them doing the wrong thing. I was interested in being a guide. Someone who had been there before. Someone who only wanted the best for them. But most importantly, someone who would listen to them.

The root of all communication is getting your point across. But it’s not a one way street. Parents have to learn to let their children say what they think. Even if it might change in an hour. Even if it might scare the crud out of you. “Not Being heard” is the lament of teens, generation after generation. What prevents us from remembering that? What prevents us from trying to fix that situation?

I was a child of the 60’s and 70’s. I did a lot of things wrong. I hope my children never have to live through some of the experiences I chose. But I’m going to be there with them – no matter what they choose for themselves. I’ll offer my suggestions, my insight, my guidance. And I’ll come here to talk with you about how it’s going. I hope you’ll do the same.

One thought on “Parenting Style

  1. Pingback: “I’m not your Friend, I’m your Mother!” | Lifelong Learning

Let me know what you think, ok? Please comment.

