Choosing “MY Word”

Every year, instead of making New Year’s Resolutions, my friend chooses a word. It’s a word she wants to concentrate on, to incorporate more into her daily life. I’ve always been a little envious, because I could never be decisive enough to find ONE word. Somewhere along the way, she sent me an article, because evidently lot’s of people were doing this. Check out the article,Resolution Revolution, to help you understand what I’m talking about.

But my point about all of this, is that THIS year, I have found my word! FOCUS. When I thought of it, I knew it was MY word.
FOCUS seems to be a strange choice, yet if you look at my life and my path, “strange” isn’t really that strange at all! It’s kind of my version of “normal” or “expected.” Well, normal is a bit of stretch, but, you know what I mean.

Here is why I choose FOCUS. I have this feeling right now. This little voice keeps saying “Now or never” and “Fifty on Sunday, ya know.” I have no negative connotations with that number. I have many people who inspire me that have long since passed that “marker.” yet, for me, it’s a wake up call. Time to FOCUS.

While I haven’t chosen a particular word for my birthday in years past, I can look backwards and see several that jump out as a noticeable presence:
JOY             LAUGH             FREEDOM         ACCEPT
        WILD                PLAY           ADVENTURE
FLOW            GIVE

And I think each of these words have left an indelible mark on my heart, Many of which have settled into my core. They are as part of me as my height or my shoe size.  But with these core ideas and words that define me, that little voice creeps through. Wandering between words like WILD and JOY. Whispering to me that the clock is ticking, “if not now, when?”

So I choose FOCUS.

And yet, I’m not even sure what I am to FOCUSING on! But I have a sense of waking up. Rubbing my eyes, still blurry from a late night. All my past words still with me. All of them turning to me, smiling, saying, “ok…what next?”
My response? Ok, let’s FOCUS.

FOCUS

One thought on “Choosing “MY Word”

  1. Pingback: Letter from a Mother to a Daughter | Lifelong Learning

Let me know what you think, ok? Please comment.

