Lists! Lists! Lists!

Sometimes I feel like my To Do List is simply too huge. Other times, I get this feeling of accomplishment simply by creating the ToDo List.  What’s that about? It’s not like I completed anything on the list. But there I go blithely skipping through my day – accomplishing nothing really.

That’s not altogether true.  I just don’t get around to the things on my list.  How could a person be so good at procrastinating? YEARS of practice!  I don’t even realize I’m doing it. Until about 4:30, when others are about to come home and I’m still in PJ’s!  So. Now you know.

Perhaps I should do two lists. (Can you tell making lists simply makes me happy?)

So my Big To-Do List includes:
1.) Finish cleaning my room and move the furniture to the better location
2.) Gather the stuff for the Salvation Army pick up
3.) Get the measurements and replace the drapes in the upstairs game room
4.) Poke around fabric stores and get ideas for drapes in the living room
5.) Figure out a way to get more homeschooled teens to complete my survey for my book
6.) Clean out my closet and put clothes that don’t fit in Rubbermaid tubs.
7.) Clean out from under the stairway closet
8.) Scan the Christmas pictures for the video I want to make
9.) Build the greenhouse for the backyard
10) Gather up the huge acorns from my front yard to make some beautiful Fall arrangement

My more realistic, less monumental List:
1.) Make soup for dinner (simmering on the stove now – I love putting things on the list that are already done. Does it count though?)
2.) Run a load of laundry (waiting on the bathroom floor now)
3.) Go to water aerobics (trying to think of reasons not to go)
4.) Blog something wildly interesting and engaging (yeahh right. If only that was my style!)
5.) Help Cydney with her bio (she is such a good writer, why she needs me I have no idea!)
6.) Take Alyssa to get her hair cut by Matt on 6th Street (Yes, she goes to Cosmetology school but really doesn’t trust her classmates with her OWN hair)
7.) Get the plants into the ground that were purchased LAST weekend before they dry out. (Really I should water the WHOLE yard. Just because temps have dropped doesn’t mean we’re not still in a drought here! Just look at my drying up plants!)
8.) Talk to Pam about our projects (NHEN, Learning International, coming here for a board meeting, future books)
9.) Chat with friends (Facebook walls, in email messages, on the phone – that takes up a LOT of time)
10.) Read the blogs at the November BlogRoll on Blogher.com (I really love that website and haven’t gotten a chance to look at everything yet! Did you see that I’m #1470 on the blogroll? Of course you didn’t, but I’m still soo excited to see it there!)

I didn’t add Oprah’s Life Class on my list, but I probably should have. Even though it’s on the DVR, I seem to be adding it into my daily “routine.” I love her new shows.

Then again, looking for cool stuff on Pinterest is calling me!

 

Let me know what you think, ok? Please comment.

