Just a little wallowing…

Empty NestWhat a weekend! I know blog posts aren’t necessarily just a journal of the day, but with NaBlPoMo, I’m trying to come up with something!

And right now, I’m kind of in “Wallowing Mode!”Turning 50 has been a pretty momentous year for me. It’s the year 2 of my 3 kids moved away. Not just down the road to college but AWAY. Katie to New York City, home only for holidays. And Michael, to Nicaragua with the Peace Corps, home in 2 years. Probably not before that. My baby ended her high school experiment and started in Cosmetology. What that means FOR ME, because I’m guessing by now you realize that I’m only focusing on what all this means FOR ME! When she went to high school, she really was just going for the experience, I think she had about a 60-70% attendance rate. If she was tired, she stayed home. If we wanted to go out to lunch, we did. If she wanted to leave early, I picked her up. Suffice it to say, our heart was not really “into” that experience.  But now that she’s in this cosmetology program – something she really cares about – she has something like a 104% attendance rate!  I know, how can you have more than 100%? She goes early and clocks in. So she is there Monday through Friday 8-5. Plus one weekend per month of extra classes. How that all translates for me is that she’s never around.  And when she is, she is with her boyfriend. And I love that for her because they both make each other happy, but I’m missing her.

I am missing all of them. So much. You don’t even know. But if you were with me this weekend, you might have a clue by my red swollen eyes.

When I brought my kids home to homeschool, I knew I was going to be incredibly involved in their lives. And as they approached their teens, I knew that it would only be for a finite number of years.  So I set up some gardening, started some writing, even restarted NHEN.  And these are  all good projects, but I’m noticing that they don’t keep my attention the way doing things with my children did.

This has left a pretty big void in my life. And I want to be careful about what I put to fill the void. I don’t want to just fill it with any ole thing. Still, I’m looking for what that will be.

This year also, I made the decision that my mother was too old to drive. She was not happy with the idea. I’ll write another post later about what led to that decision and how hard it was to make. But not here. But that means I drive her around a lot. And she’s very forgetful. And repetitive.

But this my 50th year, I’m able to say that my friendships are good. I have been able to reconnect with those who are far away from me, and keep in touch with those locally. I’d like to do this a little bit more.

I’ve joined a gym and tried to do more vegan recipes. I have a daunting number of pounds to lose in order to get healthy. But I’d love to be able to do more hiking and outdoor activities. And I have a huge learning curve for figuring out how to cook in a healthy way. Tofu sits for months in my fridge staring at me, daring me to try a recipe. The bag of quinoa from Whole Foods, just gets pushed to the side of the counter. I know it’s good for me, but what the heck do I do with it???

And today, at my workshop, we talked about many things. Lots of old griefs were stirred up. My eyes are very tired from some of the crying I did. But I’m so happy with the group of people at the Toci center. Even though they are all so different from each other and from me, being there, listening to them, sharing with them, showed me lots of insights. It was a good thing.

I’ll be back to regular blogging tomorrow, but for now, this is me.

One thought on “Just a little wallowing…

  1. Pingback: Blogs, Procrastination, Clarity…for now | Lifelong Learning

Let me know what you think, ok? Please comment.

