Go Barefoot!

I‘ve recently found a physical conditioning program that I’m really enjoying. It’s called Nia.  It’s a combination of Tai Chi, yoga, modern dance – plus a few other techniques.  The first time I participated in a Nia class, it was early in the morning, and Julie Wylie incorporated more yoga and stretching.  The technique is an integration of mind, body, and spirit – a whole-body experience.
We discovered that Julie Wylie lives down the street from my friend.   And, lo and behold, she offers a class in her house twice a week. So we thought it would be a good stress reducer to go.  Initially, I liked it as a stress reducer. But after Class 2, I realized I really worked up a sweat!

Tonight, I brought Katie to a class called “Gratitude: Dance of the in Between.” It was scheduled on the Astronomical New Moon (aka Dark Moon). The music of choice for the night? Definitely a  little Pink Floyd.  The class was much larger than I’m used to in Julie’s home. There were all kinds of fitness levels and quite a variety of “personalities” enjoying the class.  I tried hard to simply practice Nia, and not people watch!  Katie, of course, loved it. This has always been her nature – a more free-styling natural dance.   Julie is going to send her the names of some Nia instructors in NYC, so Katie can continue with Nia.

I’m going to continue going to Nia classes at Julie’s home on Austin’s East Side with my friend. And we’ll probably pick up some extra classes when Katie gets back to town over Christmas.

I really liked the theme for tonight:

Between stimulus and response there is a   s p a c e . 

In that  s p a c e  is our power to choose our response. 
 
In our response lies our growth and our freedom. 
 
And if you’d like to know a little more about Nia…here’s a great You Tube presentation!
Let me know what you think, ok? Please comment.

