Betwixt & Between

Betwixt and Between?

Irresolute.
Undecided.
Torn.
Willy Nilly.
Waffling. (oh, I should NOT use that one!)
Hot and Cold.
Vacillating.
Ambivalent.

All these words can describe my relationship with what food path to take.  I seem to blow in all different directions when it comes down to a dietary plan.  I get to a point and I jump ship.  You’ve seen it. I started with trying Vegan (Forks Over Knives) in March 2011.  That lasted a few months. Then I came back to it this year. This time, limiting pasta and avocados. Gail sent me the titles of some books by Gary Taub. I read them, and it lingered in the back of my head. I lost a little weight but it started to plateau. About that time, Linda told me she had read Taub’s book and was doing great with the High Protein, No Carb diet…just adding in a few strawberries for breakfast.  So I decided to do that. I was a little nervous about all that meat, knowing I have high Blood pressure and high Cholesterol. But focusing on insulin production made medical sense to me – I was diagnosed pre-Diabetic as well.

Then I read Dr Fuhrman’s analysis of ketogenic diets like this.
Actually, he looked at lots of them: Dr. Fuhrman Compares Eat to Live with Other Diets.

While I certainly never felt hungry AT ALL with the high Protein diet, I never really felt like it was a good idea to eat sausage several times each day. What if I really was endangering my health? After all, I’m over 50, severely overweight, and already with multiple diagnoses. Sounds a little like playing near a highway, to me.

Shifting Gears Again
Are you surprised?
I’ve decided to join Pam in a 6 week trial – no exceptions, follow the very best we can.
So here’s what I’m going to do: Eat to Live Dr. Fuhrman’s 6 Week Plan
UNLIMITED: eat as much as you want

  • all raw vegetables (goal: 1 lb. daily)
  • cooked green vegetables (goal: 1 lb. daily)
  • non green nutrient-rich cooked vegetables (such as eggplant, mushrooms, peppers, onions, tomatoes, carrots, cauliflower)
  • beans, legumes, bean sprouts, and tofu (goal: 1 cup daily)
  • fresh fruit (at least 4 daily)

LIMITED:

  • cooked starchy vegetables or whole grains
  • butternut or acorn squash, corn, potatoes, rice, sweet potatoes, breads, cereals (not more than one serving (1 cup) per day)
  • raw nuts and seeds (1 oz. max. per day)
  • avocado (2 oz. max. per day)
  • dried fruit (2 tablespoons per day)
  • ground flaxseed (1 tablespoon per day)

OFF LIMITS:

  • dairy products
  • animal products
  • whole grains
  • between meal snacks
  • fruit juice
  • starch vegetables and whole grains

More to Read and Watch
Healthy Permanent Weight Loss Strategies That Work
How to Eat Healthy When You’re On the Go
Who to Trust?
I’m not sure about this, but it’s interesting: Powdered Gooseberries – Anti-Oxident Breakfasts

This is long, but REALLY worth watching!
Let me know what you think, ok? Please comment.

