In All Different Directions

As usual, our family is going 90 mph in all different directions these days.  Here’s what we’ve been up to for the last 3 weeks…

Alyssa

Alyssa has added more days to her work schedule at Milk + Honey. She’s really enjoying her weekly Apprentice program – learning a lot and making a good impression.  This week, she has models coming in to get various styles, so she can be “checked off.” When she completes all of this – probably in 3-4 months –  she anticipates being “given a chair” at the salon. Very exciting!!
We all had a lot of fun fishing and sailing at the end of last month at Lake Texoma – see more at A Long Line of Lake Lovers. And, then, a couple of weeks later, Alyssa had a wonderful trip to the beach with Josh’s family. She LOVES the beach, so 4 days at a lovely condo in Corpus Christi was perfect! They caught quite a few fish, saw a few dolphins and maybe even a shark. It sounds like September, when the crowds have died down, is THE time to do a beach trip!
Alyssa’s “Wedding Update” is that she found The Dress. Next stop…Invitations.
On a side note… Alyssa’s fiancé, Josh, turned 21 since I last reported in.  After our fishing trip, we decided to get him a bow fishing kit.  With all the carp at the dock, I think he’ll love using it there. He’s already being practicing and is becoming quite good with the bow! He loves “outdoor stuff” so I’m glad we found something for him on his “Big Day.”

Katie

Katie finished her summer work at Cinemark. Luckily, she’s been accumulating free passes (one of the perks of working there!) so I anticipate more movie watching for all of us!
We’ve been busy shopping for “L.A. Clothes” – since most of her NYC wardrobe is for much colder weather than she’ll see in southern California. She is not sad to leave that New York weather!
She’s been having a lot of fun with Zumba classes at the local 24 Hour Fitness.
We’re working together on a cookbook, so she’ll be able to make various dishes that she grew up enjoying.  She probably won’t be home for Thanksgiving this year, so she wants to learn how to make all of our family specialties! :::sniff, sniff:::
Katie’s been a huge help to me with getting Grandma to her multitude of dental appointments lately. (See below)
And… I just realized that the next time I “report in,” I will probably be back from taking her to California. I’m going to miss her!!

Michael

Michael has been busy trekking across Nicaragua. He teaches in the eastern side of the country, but is often called back to Corazo area for Peace Corps training classes and workshops. It doesn’t hurt that his girlfriend lives in La Paz and her family kindly allows him to stay there with them.  Considering his pay is about $100/month, and his food options are pretty bad where he lives, I’m happy that he has a family who feeds him whenever he’s there!
Michael has had very little communication lately because his computer crashed. This is not an easy fix in a 3rd World country. Kathya thinks she knows someone that can fix it, but we’ll see. In the meantime, she loaned him a computer from her family to take back to his house in Muelle de Los Bueyes (south central Nicaragua). Only problem was, he confused the 2 power cords and took the wrong one back. Considering mail is completely unreliable, he has to wait a couple of weeks to get back over there to get the right cord. All of these computer issues are troubling him because he and Kathya are trying to work on her Visa to come back to the USA with him for Alyssa’s wedding next April.  Only about 10% of Nicaraguans who apply for visas are granted one, so we’re a little worried. Cross your fingers!
On Wednesday, Michael experienced a 7.6 earthquake which occurred off the coast of Costa Rica but shook Nicaragua as well. He felt the tremor and said it lasted longer than any he remembered in Alaska or California. All day long, Nicaraguans anticipated a tsunami from the quake, but by the end of the day, the warning was lifted without any tsunami. He called to tell me about it, before I could hear about it from the computer or the news.  I’m glad because I would have been worried sick if I couldn’t find out about him.

I found a different video and shared it at my earlier blogpost, “Mom! It’s an Earthquake!” 
But here’s CNN’s report on this earthquake, with experts, maps and explanations:

Sue

After a couple of months of exercise (including weekly with Michelle, the trainer) and wishy washy dieting, I stuck with the Fuhrman Diet. And lost 7 lbs. in 2 weeks! For some reason, I fell off the wagon and ate all kinds of unhealthy stuff. So now I’m back on board. The diet is primarily plant-based. Crazy, seemingly excessive, amounts of leafy greens as well as 1 lb. of cooked veggies and 1 lb. of raw veggies, at least 4 fruit, and 1 cup of beans. That’s the minimum! Really makes for a messy kitchen though. Oh well.
I offered to help my longtime friend, Linda Dobson, with her publication Parent at the Helm. The books she wrote really helped me tremendously when we first started homeschooling, so I am happy to help her out with PATH. I’ve written a few pieces and now I’m learning WordPress, behind the scenes. I really like it so much better than Blogger, but I’m not sure about moving everything to a different blog. We’ll see. If I can figure out the WordPress “themes” down the road, I might do it.
And speaking of road… I’m looking forward to Katie and my road trip to California at the end of the month! Driving there, flying back.

Ron

Ron is still ordering parts and working on the motorcycle. Luckily, we have Grandma’s Toyota Camry for him to drive to work.  He’s had a couple of really great sailing weekends. He’s doing different things with the sails, so he can control the speed and the ways the sails catch the wind. And, he bought the decal for the boat name change… O Susie Q.  We’ll take a picture the next time we go up there (or he might go up while we’re gone to California.)
I’ve never had a boat named after me! Kinda cool!

Grandma

I was sitting at my dining room table when my mom came up to me.
“Look at this,” she said casually and placed a whitish almost plastic looking thing in my hand.
“What is it?” I asked.
“My tooth!”
Why this grossed me out, I have no idea. My kids have put far worse into my hands in years past. But this really bothered me.  Oh well.  I got over it.  Grandma’s “chipped” tooth turned into 6 visits to the dentist and oral surgeon!  She needed a root canal, a crown lengthening, a post being added, a temporary tooth, and still a permanent one to go in there! Wow!

She’s really enjoying all the activities that her apartment complex sets up. So, in spite of her forgetfulness and real need for a lot of help, I’d like her to stay there as long as possible. We’re talking about how the next step is to move in with us – and she isn’t resisting that. But, just like with the car, why resist until it actually comes to pass? Then, we’ll see how she is with resistance. Hopefully, that’s a little ways off.

Let me know what you think, ok? Please comment.

