ROW80 – Intent

ROW80 is “A Round of Words in 80 Days: the writing challenge that knows you have a life.” And, it’s been going on for some time. I, however, am just finding out and joining in a little late. Round 4 started on October 1st, and I’m starting a week late. But, they say it’s fine, so I’m going to just jump onboard!

I’ve been quietly pulling all my posts from my two Blogger blogs (Lifelong Learning & A Life Full of Saturdays) over here. It’s almost done – probably in the next couple of days. But something kind of backfired on me. I thought I would get back into the writing groove by doing NaBloPoMo last November. I wrote every day for a month and I liked it a lot. But it didn’t help me work on my book. It spread me too thin, writing-wise. I had a sense that I wanted to record everything that was going on with the kids growing up and moving away. But the price of doing that was progress on the book. There was none. Then, I separated my blogs and even started the Unschooling Blog Carnival – yet a THIRD freakin blog!  And, surprise surprise! No progress on the book. I think blogging was an easy distraction for me.

Who knows what my issues are? Fear of failure? Fear of Success? Not wanting to work that hard? Will I do it justice? Will it be any good? I have no idea what the answer is!  But I AM going to deal with this. NOW.  I have taken my daughter across the country to go to school in Los Angeles. My son is living in Nicaragua with the Peace Corps. My youngest has begun her career and moved out this past summer.  (Truthfully, she’s here quite a bit – some stuff here and some stuff in an apartment with her fiancé.) My husband is at work all day. And I am in the MOST fortunate position to not have to return to the work force right now. So NOW is MY time.

I’ve begun my workout/weight loss goals. They’ve changed a few times, but I’m making some significant strides in these areas.

  • Work out with a Trainer 1x/week
  • Change my diet to be more vegetables/fruit, less meat & dairy
  • Work out 5-6 days per week (I often don’t make this one, but I come close)

And I’ve lost nearly 40 pounds since last March! I’ve dropped one of my blood pressure medications, and I’m waiting to hear how my recent lab work looks with regard to blood sugar and cholesterol.

I have goals that have to do with my house and my spiritual/introspective journey.  But for ROW80, I want to focus on the book. It’s now moving to the head of the line.

So, here I am now, setting my intent:

1.) One hour of work on the book every day. Plain and simple. If I can do more, then I should. Otherwise, I set the timer, & work on it for an hour. No interruptions. No phone calls. No email. No Facebook. No blogging. ONLY the book.  Everything else can wait for an hour. IF I decide to take on another hour during the day, I enter The Bubble…no interruptions allowed.

I have most of the data for my book – In Their Own Words, a book about grown and teen homeschoolers sharing what it was like to homeschool or unschool through their “high school years.” Now it’s all about me pulling it into chapters, doing the statistics for the data collected, sending some letters out to some of the respondents, and then I move into publishing mode. But I’m not going to go there until I’m making good progress on COMPLETING each chapter. It’s SOOO within my reach.  I just have to do the final push now.

ROW 80, is going to nudge me along! Wish me luck!!

“If there’s a book you really want to read but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”
Toni Morrison

Let me know what you think, ok? Please comment.

