Dallas Road Trip: Chihuly Nights and the Pumpkin Village

I often write about the pains of transitioning from full time Mom-dom to this new, the kids-don’t-live-at-home- anymore way of life.  With my mom’s declining health, I’m not really footloose and fancy free. Plus, every third day, when Josh is on his 24-hour firefighter shift, Alyssa comes over to hang out, run errands, watch cable t.v. With Katie in California and Michael in Nicaragua, I really prioritize those moments with her. They all left at one time, basically. And I wouldn’t recommend it, if you have any say in it – which you don’t.  So I won’t lie to you, it has been a very tough transition for me.

BUT! Someone told me a while back:

This will open up the space needed for new stuff to grow!

They were right!

A little perk to all of this transitioning is having more time to spend with friends.  And, while I spent plenty of time with friends while my kids were growing up, we weren’t usually centering around something *I* was interested in exploring.  No complaints about it, just a fact. I saw my job as a kind of tour guide/resource finder. But they were resources to support my kids’ interests, primarily.

Sooo, last month, in spite of mom breaking her wrist, taking Katie to California, and helping plan Alyssa’s wedding, I took a trip to Dallas with 3 friends. We had a great time! We talked non-stop in the car, all the way up I35.  I gave them the tour guide narrative as we wound through Dallas. Lucky for us, our friend Maxine had “points” to spend, so we stayed at the Doubletree on Central Expwy, near Northpark.

Beer Garden on left, my wedding chapel across the street and up a little bit. You can see the domed roof 😉

We ate dinner and had drinks at a little beer garden we stumbled across on lower Greenville Ave. You could see the chapel where Ron & I got married, 25 years ago from there! We loved that little patio restaurant and thought we’d make it back there, but we didn’t. Then we were off to the Chihuly Exhibit at the Dallas Arboretum.

Fabulous gardens, beautiful glass sculptures to see in the nighttime lighting. The Pumpkin Village – with all the pumpkins placed throughout the garden – was spectacular as well! Afterwards, we over to J Black’s on Henderson. The food was great and the weather was lovely while we sat out on the patio and chatted until nearly 2 a.m.!

Here are the pictures I wanted to share. I think it’s easier to do this as a slideshow than putting a ton of pictures on the blog. Hopefully it will work!

Dale Chihuly is an incredibly talented glass blower and director of glass sculptures. His art can be found all over the world, we even saw some in the windows of the Dallas Museum of Art.  You can listen to Chihuly talk about how he started out and the twists and turns of his career.

We had such a great time! I hope you get a chance to look at these pictures – or better yet, GO YOURSELF! Sorry we won’t be able to hang out with you, and I know that would make it more wonderful, but still, the glass art, the gardens, the pumpkins, it’s absolutely stunning!

And, I found the most wonderful smelling flower –>
We searched all over to find which flower had this fragrance that we could smell wafting across the grounds. It’s the White Butterfly Ginger, and I simply MUST plant some!

3 thoughts on “Dallas Road Trip: Chihuly Nights and the Pumpkin Village

  1. I have a good friend’s Christmas card on my mantle with that first sculpture in the background. 🙂 So glad you had fun in Dallas. It’s a great place to be. Found you through Bloggy Moms.

    • Those are INCREDIBLE pieces of art, if you get to see them in person some day. I hadn’t really heard of it before the trip, so I was thrilled!
      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter
    a blog that’s equally educative and amusing, and let me
    tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something not enough people are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I stumbled across
    this in my hunt for something concerning this.

Let me know what you think, ok? Please comment.

