Brené Brown on Fear, Joy, and Vulnerability

Brene Brown

I’m going to start collecting my favorite inspiring videos. Once a week, I’ll share them here on what I’m calling Tuesday TALKS.  I know you’ll all love them as much as I do!

Brené Brown is my new favorite speaker!  She is a researcher from Houston who has studied vulnerability and shame extensively.

From this particular TED Talk, here are some of my favorite Brené Brown quotes:

  • Connection is why we’re here.
  • Shame is the fear of disconnection. “I’m not ___ enough.” (and I’m afraid you’re going to find out!)
  • In order for REAL connection to occur, we have to allow ourselves to be vulnerable enough to be seen for who we REALLY are.
  • Vulnerability is the core of shame and fear and our struggle for worthiness. But it appears to also be the birthplace of joy, creativity, belonging, love.
  • We create a dangerous cycle: We are the most in debt, obese, addicted, & medicated people in US history – all because we try to numb our feelings of vulnerability. Unfortunately, we cannot  selectively numb certain uncomfortable emotions. We end up numbing everything, including joy, gratitude and happiness. Then we’re miserable, looking for purpose and meaning… and choose to numb again.
  • Blame is a way to discharge pain and discomfort.
  • We want to make everything certain – religion, politics, etc. (And life isn’t really like that)
  • As parents, our job is not to keep our children perfect.  We should tell them, “you are imperfect, and wired for struggle, but you are worthy of love and belonging.”

People who have a strong sense of love and belonging BELIEVE they are worthy. Here are some of the characteristics she found that these people have:

  • They believe courage is telling who you are with your whole heart.
  • They have the courage to be imperfect.
  • They understand that compassion is being kind to themselves first. We can’t practice compassion if we don’t offer it to ourselves.
  • They have real connection – as a result of authenticity.
  • They fully embrace vulnerability – it’s not comfortable, but it’s necessary.

vulnerability

I first discovered Dr. Brené Brown through Oprah’s Super Soul Series. She ended up doing 2 separate interviews with her:

Part 1: Daring Greatly 
“Dr. Brené Brown examines how the courage to be vulnerable transforms the way we live, love, parent and lead. In this interview, she reveals how our greatest weaknesses may also be our greatest strengths.”
Part 2: Living with a Whole Heart
“Shame and vulnerability researcher Dr. Brené Brown offers advice on how to conquer shame and live with a whole heart.”

Final Points…

Let yourself be seen, deeply and vulnerably
Love with your whole heart, even when there is no guarantee
Practice gratitude and joy in those moments of terror that comes with vulnerability
Believe that you are enough

authenticity

6 thoughts on “Brené Brown on Fear, Joy, and Vulnerability

  1. I love your critique of this inspiring video, which I’m not gonna lie, made me cry the first time I watched it in December lol. I like to post my favorite Talks on a Pinterest board, but blogging im sure is more fun, because you get to analyze and discuss it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks for commenting, Cathy! I love pinterest too, but I’m way too chatty to be able to let it go with just a picture! lol
    My “Wordless Wednesdays” are such a struggle, because I’m dying to slip some words in! hahaha!
    I’ll start following your new blog – good luck!!

  3. Pingback: A Lightness of Being Created…a Wall demolished. “Facing the Fear of Embarrassment” (Part II) | Path of Three Hundred

  4. Pingback: “Daring Greatly” or “Embracing Vulnerability” | My Path to Lucid Living

  5. Pingback: To Dare Greatly | After full circle

Let me know what you think, ok? Please comment.

